Pistachio Ice cream

IMG_59942

Hi there! It’s been a while since my last post. I’ve been occupied with getting the house ready to sell, starting a new job and spending time with my friends and family. I’m still trying to figure out my schedule because I want to start posting regularly!

This weekend will be the hottest days of the summer so it’s only appropriate to cool down with some ice cream!

Out of the dozens of ice cream flavors, pistachio is my favorite. Its nutty flavor and bits of crunchy pistachio contrast with the creamy and smooth ice cream.

I used salted and roasted pistachios from Wonderful and my ice cream turned out sweet and salty- MmMmMm. Feel free to use unsalted pistachios for full sweetness.

Stay cool!


Pistachio Ice Cream

Ingredients:

1 cup shelled pistachios
3 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups milk
1 1/2 cups heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Finely grind 1 cup pistachios in a food processor.
  2. Whisk egg yolks and sugar until pale yellow. Stir in milk and transfer to a saucepan. Heat the mixture on low heat until thickened, stirring constantly, about 6 minutes. Once thickened, strain mixture into a bowl.
  3. Mix in ground pistachios and heavy cream. Then chill in refrigerator for at least 2 hours.
  4. Stir the mixture then pour in ice cream maker to freeze. Transfer to an airtight container and freeze to harden.

Optional: pinch of salt

Yields about 1 quarts of ice cream.

Leave a comment