The Rocco Cookie: Reese’s, Kit Kat & Snickers

IMG_88652

Hi all! It’s been a while since my last blog post. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving stuffing your bellies while spending quality time with your families!

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays because well- there’s food involved and LOTS OF IT!

It’s also the one and only day in the year when my parents are off from work. Although we don’t do traditional Thanksgiving dinners with turkey, sweet potato casserole, cranberry sauce and etc. – we do get to share a meal together on Thanksgiving. Whether it’s going out for Vietnamese food, slurping soup dumplings in NYC or bringing home roast duck for dinner.

I’m hoping I can host a traditional Thanksgiving dinner next year.

It’s going to be quite a feat but I’m going to make everything from scratch- from the turkey to the side dishes, gravy and pies!

I feel like it’s some sort of rite of passage in the culinary world to be able to cook a whole turkey perfectly. I don’t know, I’m probably making that up.

IMG_88482

Anyway, I had some left over candy lying around from Halloween [Yes, I’m surprised I haven’t eaten them all too.] so I decided to throw them into a cookie because who doesn’t love cookies right?

IMG_88672

I used Kit Kats, Snickers and Reese’s but feel free to use any combination of your favorite chocolate bars!

I must admit that the combination of these three candies were freakin’ delicious.

The wafers from the Kit Kats gave them a nice crunch and the peanut butter from the Reese’s gave the cookies a nutty flavor.

The best part were the Snickers with their chewy caramel and fluffy nougat layers. I mean look at the caramel bubbling over the edges… You have to make this cookie!

IMG_88602


The Rocco Cookie

Ingredients
20 Kit Kat wafers
30 mini Snickers
30 mini Reese’s peanut butter cups
1/3 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 tablespoon vanilla
1 large egg
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut Kit Kat wafers into 1/4 inch pieces, snickers into quarters, Reese’s into quarters and set aside.
  2. In a mixing bowl, cream sugars and butter. Add vanilla and eggs and mix well.
  3. Combine dry ingredients and gradually add to sugar mixture. Stir in half of the candy pieces.
  4. Form into 1 1/2 inch balls and place pieces of candy on top of the cookie dough. Bake for 13 minutes and let the cookies cool. Yields 16 cookies.

 

Leave a comment