Chocolate Chip Banana Cookies

IMG_47862 (edit)
Hello there! Hope you all had a nice weekend!

I kicked off my weekend by going to iPlay America’s “iPlay After Dark” event. My friend Keri was promoting the event at a Lindsey Stirling concert and I was able to score a free pass for unlimited rides. The best things in life are free!

Speaking of Lindsey Stirling she is AH-MAZING live! If you haven’t heard of her, she’s a violinist with electronic, pop and hip-hop influences.

Lindsey is a super passionate and quirky musician who was featured in America’s Got Talent. It’s incredible how she can dance around on stage while playing the violin. I was in awe during the whole concert!

Okay, getting back to iPlay America- iPlay America is an indoor amusement park with boardwalk games, an arcade and small rides.

Its target market includes young children and tweens. However, I also saw older teenagers and adults enjoying the attractions. You’re never too old to have fun!

The main reason I went was because I wanted to try Go Kart racing and laser tag! It was my first time experiencing both and I had a blast. My friend Jen, over at Bakers Block, tagged along and we went Go Karting four times!

I’m really competitive so I floored it the whole time and even got into a minor “accident” while racing. I was also on the red team during laser tag and we won!

Now, what’s a weekend without a baking sesh? I devoured these banana chocolate chip cookies!

These cookies are soft with a cake like texture.IMG_4771

I used chocolate chips but you can totally substitute it for walnuts, pecans or white chocolate.IMG_4752

Chocolate Chip Banana Cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup of unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup of sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 cup of mashed bananas (about 2 ½ large bananas)
1 teaspoon of baking soda
2 cups of flour
pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
1 cup of chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add egg and continue to beat until the mixture is light and fluffy.
  2. In a bowl, mix the mashed bananas and baking soda. Let sit for 2 minutes. The baking soda will react with the acid in the bananas which will give the cookies their lift and rise.
  3. Mix the banana mixture into the butter mixture. Mix together the flour, salt, and spices and sift into the butter and banana mixture and mix until just combined.
  4. Fold chocolate chips into the batter. Drop in dollops onto greased baking sheet. Bake for 11-13 minutes or until nicely golden brown. Let cool on wire racks. Yields about 30 cookies.

Slightly adapted from Simply Recipes

Leave a comment